Beairsto Elementary School

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Beairsto Elementary School

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

      • Central School (Vernon, B.C. : 1909-1961)

      Identifiers for corporate bodies

      Description area

      Dates of existence



      Beairsto Elementary School was known as Central School when it was built in Vernon in 1909. The brick building was three stories high with an auditorium on the third floor. A north wing was added in 1939 and a south wing was added in 1946. Unfortunately, early records were burned at the school board office. Harold K. Beairsto was principal from 1925 to 1961; when he retired the name of the school was changed to honour him. Beairsto Elementary School is still operating as a school and is the centre for Vernon's elementary French Immersion program.


      Legal status

      Functions, occupations and activities

      Mandates/sources of authority

      Internal structures/genealogy

      General context

      Relationships area

      Access points area

      Subject access points

      Place access points


      Control area

      Authority record identifier

      Institution identifier

      Rules and/or conventions used


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation, revision and deletion




          Maintenance notes