Fonds 1998 009 C - Office of the Mayor fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Office of the Mayor fonds

General material designation

    Parallel title

    Other title information

    Title statements of responsibility

    Title notes

    Level of description


    Reference code

    CA NCAI 1998 009 C

    Edition area

    Edition statement

    Edition statement of responsibility

    Class of material specific details area

    Statement of scale (cartographic)

    Statement of projection (cartographic)

    Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

    Statement of scale (architectural)

    Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

    Dates of creation area


    • [ca. 193-?]-1990, predominant 1983-1990 (Creation)
      Nanaimo (B.C.). Mayor

    Physical description area

    Physical description

    31 cm of textual records;ca. 320 photographs

    Publisher's series area

    Title proper of publisher's series

    Parallel titles of publisher's series

    Other title information of publisher's series

    Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

    Numbering within publisher's series

    Note on publisher's series

    Archival description area

    Name of creator

    Biographical history

    The Mayor of the City of Nanaimo is the chief executive officer of the municipal corporation. The provincial Municipal Act outlines the statutory duties of the position, which enable the Mayor to chair Nanaimo City Council, create and appoint members to committees of Council and to otherwise oversee the governing of the city. The following individuals have served in the position of Mayor, since incorporation of the city in 1874: Mark Bate, 1875-1879, 1881-1886, 1888-1889, 1898-1900; John Pawson, 1880; Richard Gibson, 1887; John Hilbert, 1890-1891; Andrew Haslam, 1892-1893; Edward Quennel, 1894-1895; Jeff H. Davidson, 1896-1897; William Manson, 1901-1904, Albert E. Planta, 1905-1908, 1910-1911, 1914-1915; Thomas Hodgson, 1909; John Shaw, 1912-1913; Frederick A. Busby, 1916, 1920-1924, 1927-1929; Henry McKenzie, 1917-1920; Victor B. Harrison, 1925-1926, 1938-1944; George A.B. Hall, 1930-1931; John Barsby, 1932-1937; George Muir, 1945-1949, 1953-1955; Earle C. Westwood, 1950-1952, 1956; Peter Maffeo, 1957-1967; Frank J. Ney, 1968-1984; Graeme Roberts, 1984-1986; Frank J. Ney, 1986-1990; Joy E. Leach, 1990-1993; Gary R. Korpan, 1993-Present.

    Custodial history

    Scope and content

    The fonds consists of records of the Office of the Mayor of Nanaimo during the terms of Frank Ney and Graeme Roberts. Fonds includes correspondence files, including the personal correspondence of Frank Ney; records of meetings and ceremonies, and a series of files relating to the Committee investigating proposals for a natural gas pipeline on Vancouver Island. Fonds also includes photographs of the Mayor (primarily Frank Ney) involved in numerous ceremonies and activities, along with aerial photographs of various areas of Nanaimo. The fonds is arranged in four series: 1) Correspondence; 2) Ceremonies and meetings; 3) Committee; and, 4) Photographs.

    Notes area

    Physical condition

    Immediate source of acquisition


    Language of material

      Script of material

        Location of originals

        Availability of other formats

        Restrictions on access

        Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

        Finding aids

        Series descriptions and file list available.

        Associated materials

        Related materials


        Alpha-numeric designations

        BCAUL control number: NCAI-131

        Alternative identifier(s)

        Standard number

        Standard number

        Access points

        Place access points

        Name access points

        Genre access points

        Control area

        Description record identifier

        Institution identifier

        Rules or conventions


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion

        Language of description

          Script of description


            Accession area